World Superbike Champions 1988-2005
and notes ...
by dean adams
Thursday, October 06, 2005

Troy Corser's 2005 World Superbike championship marks the very first time a Suzuki has won the coveted title, and Corser's second time as title-holder, nine friggin years after he won his first WSBK title.

Corser's title also marks only the second time an in-line four has won the title in World Superbike history; American Scott 'just call me Mista' D' Russell won the title on a Muzzy Kawasaki in 1993. Fred Merkel and John Kocinski won the World Superbike championship on V-4 Hondas, while Colin Edwards II won his on RC51 Twins.

Interestingly, Ducati has not won the title three times in succesion since Raymond Roche and Doug Polen did it for (then Cagiva\ Ducati) in the early 1990s and Fogarty/Corser did so in 94-96.

Yamaha has never won the World Superbike title.

World Superbike Champions 1988-2005

1988 Fred Merkel, Honda
1989 Fred Merkel, Honda
1990 Raymond Roche, Ducati
1991 Doug Polen, Ducati
1992 Doug Polen, Ducati
1993 Scott Russell, Kawasaki
1994 Carl Fogarty, Ducati
1995 Carl Fogarty, Ducati
1996 Troy Corser, Ducati
1997 John Kocinski, Honda
1998 Carl Fogarty, Ducati
1999 Carl Fogarty, Ducati
2000 Colin Edwards Honda
2001 Troy Bayliss, Ducati
2002 Colin Edwards, Honda
2003 Neil Hodgson, Ducati
2004 James Toseland, Ducati
2005 Troy Corser, Suzuki


Return to News


© 1997 - 2005 Hardscrabble Media LLC