Soup's Top 10 Stories of 2016. #3: Marquez Wins Third MotoGP Title
dominates season with consistent success
by staff
Tuesday, January 10, 2017

Yeah, it's easy now to say Marc Marquez was going to be champion all along, but if you roll back the clock 365 days, the gleam of the wonder kid had seemed to dull. He'd finished (shock!) third in the championship in 2015 and was very nearly relegated to bit player in the drama that was Jorge vs Valentino. Marquez' crashes were catching up with him and Honda was said to be behind the curve on the new ECU rules.

Perhaps there might have been a few who thought Marquez would storm back in 2016, but they were certainly in the minority.

2016 started to form as most expected with Lorenzo taking the victory over Andrea Dovizioso with Marquez third. But after wins in Argentina and Austin for Marquez he was suddenly back and a major contender for the title.

It was during mid-season where Marquez pulled clear, finishing with a string of podiums while Lorenzo and Rossi struggled on and off.

After consecutive Marquez victories in Aragon and Motegi he clinched the title with three rounds left in the season.

Marquez just keeps racking up records and some of them are already putting him among the all-time elites.

At 23-years old, Marquez became the youngest ever rider to win three premier-class World Championship titles and five World Championships over all classes during a period of only nine years of World Championship racing. Marquez has now equaled Mick Doohan, Jorge Lorenzo and Toni Mang's tally of 5 World Titles in his career.

As hard as it may be to believe, the only rider who has won more premier-class world title riding for Honda is Mick Doohan who won the 500cc title on five occasions.

Marquez has won a Grand Prix at least five times per season for the last seven years (across the various GP classes), something achieved previously by only two riders in the 68-year history of motorcycle Grand Prix racing: Giacomo Agostini and Mike Hailwood.


Share |

Return to News


©1997-2016 Hardscrabble Media LLC